(julkaistu alunperin nasigorengissa 23.9.2009)

1253722878_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

müesli and curd (maitorahka) topped with cranberries and brown Indian sugar

 

Breakfast, the most enjoyable meal of the day. When done right. Here's what I need to get a good start for my day:

  • waking up in peace, preferably to the morning light
  • time to fix up a breakfast to set the mood for the day.


Lately, I've been feeling in need of something fresh and light to start the day. Like müesli and curd. I like to tune up my müesli with different kinds of seeds or nuts (sunflower, pumpkin, cashew, hazel, pecan... whatever I happen to have in the cupboard) and dried fruit.

Dried figs are especially tasty with müesli - and even eaten plain! They're high in calcium and other nutrients, too, which is another reason why I favour them. (Plus, the texture in your mouth is absolutely unresistable!)

 

1253722455_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

tuorepuuro, or 'pukkola' (as Jamie Oliver puts it)

 

I've found a new liking in a porridge-kind of thing called 'pukkola'. I'm not sure where the term originates, but at least Jamie Oliver is the most famous source I've seen using it. Basically what pukkola is, is uncooked (or 'raw') porridge. (It could also be seen as soaked müesli with richer ingredients, though.) I searched the Internet for an illustrative recipe and found one.

My version above is made of overnight-soaked oats and sunflower seeds. (I was out of real müesli.) In the morning, I added one grated apple half, and topped the whole thing with cranberries, crushed nuts and a dribble of organic honey. Yummy.

 

Love,

M.E.